Agentmarketplace

GitHub Copilot Enterprise Pricing and GitHub Copilot Business Pricing With AI Credit Cost

GitHub Copilot Enterprise costs $39 per user per month and Copilot Business costs $19. Since June 1, 2026 both are billed on GitHub AI Credits instead of premium requests, which changed the Enterprise vs Business decision more than the list price did. We read GitHub's own plan pages and billing docs on September 25, 2026 and worked the numbers a US engineering leader needs before signing a renewal.

Browse all agents

No agents in this category in the preview.

See the full catalog →

What it does

Connects to
security-scanned
model-agnostic scoped access human-in-the-loop

What it does not do

Permissions it needs

Published by

Open the full listing →
Deployed · Live
Demo

In short

GitHub Copilot Enterprise is $39 per user per month with 3,900 AI credits per user, and it requires GitHub Enterprise Cloud, which starts at $21 per user, so the real floor is $60. Copilot Business is $19 per user with 1,900 AI credits and runs on any organization plan, including Team at $4. Credits are pooled across the company and extra usage costs $0.01 per credit. The $20 gap between the two plans buys exactly $20 of credits, so Enterprise is never cheaper on usage alone.

At a glance

GitHub Copilot organization plans, US list, read from GitHub's plans page and billing docs September 25, 2026

Plan Price per user per month Included AI credits per user Required GitHub plan Real floor per user
Copilot Business $19 1,900 ($19 of usage) Any organization plan: Free, Team ($4) or Enterprise Cloud ($21) $19 on Free, $23 on Team, $40 on Enterprise Cloud
Copilot Enterprise $39 3,900 ($39 of usage) GitHub Enterprise Cloud only (from $21) $60
Additional usage $0.01 per AI credit Billed after the shared pool is used up On by default for organizations Capped only by the budgets you set
Code completions and next edit suggestions Included Not billed in AI credits All paid plans Unlimited

The challenge

Most Copilot pricing articles still describe premium requests, a $0.04 unit that GitHub retired for Business and Enterprise on June 1, 2026. Budgets built on that model are now wrong in both directions: short chat questions got cheaper, and long agent sessions that used to cost one request now cost dollars, because every interaction is billed on the tokens it actually burns at the model's API rate. On top of that, paid overage is switched on by default for organizations, the June to August promotional credits ($30 on Business, $70 on Enterprise) ended with the August cycle, and Copilot code review now also consumes GitHub Actions minutes. The seat price did not move. The bill did.

How AgentMarketplace handles it

Price Copilot from usage, not from the plan names. Start every seat on Business, set a universal user-level budget so no single developer can drain the shared pool, and read the AI usage dashboard after one full month. If the average developer uses less than 3,900 credits, stay on Business and pay any overage per credit. Move an organization to Enterprise only when you want its features (codebase indexing, Copilot on github.com with your organization's knowledge, fine-tuned private models, earlier model access), because the extra credits alone are worth exactly what the upgrade costs.

How much does GitHub Copilot Enterprise cost?

GitHub Copilot Enterprise costs $39 per user per month, and every assigned seat adds 3,900 GitHub AI Credits to a pool shared across your enterprise. One AI credit is worth $0.01, so the seat price is fully returned as usage. The catch is the prerequisite: Copilot Enterprise is sold only to organizations on GitHub Enterprise Cloud, which GitHub lists from $21 per user per month. A company that is not already on Enterprise Cloud pays at least $60 per developer for Copilot Enterprise.

Copilot Business costs $19 per user per month with 1,900 AI credits per user, and it works on any organization plan. On GitHub Team at $4 per user, a Business seat lands at $23 all in. That is the real price gap buyers should compare: $23 against $60 for a team on Team today, or $40 against $60 for a company already on Enterprise Cloud.

SetupGitHub planCopilot planTotal per developer per month100 developers per month100 developers per year
Small team on Team$4Business $19$23$2,300$27,600
Enterprise Cloud shop on Business$21Business $19$40$4,000$48,000
Enterprise Cloud shop on Enterprise$21Enterprise $39$60$6,000$72,000

These are list prices before any overage. GitHub bills seats monthly for the number assigned at the end of each billing cycle. Seats added mid-cycle are charged pro rata and their included credits may be prorated too; seats removed mid-cycle are billed until the cycle ends. If the same person holds a seat in two organizations inside one enterprise, GitHub bills the enterprise once.

Is GitHub Copilot Enterprise worth $20 more than Business?

On credits alone, no. This is the single most useful number on the page. Enterprise costs $20 more per seat and includes 2,000 more AI credits per seat, and 2,000 credits at $0.01 is exactly $20. So the upgrade buys the same usage you could buy as overage on Business, except you prepay it for every seat whether that developer uses it or not.

Because both plans pool credits and both bill overage at the same $0.01, Business plus overage is always equal to or cheaper than Enterprise on usage. Here is the proof at 100 seats, Copilot seat cost plus overage only (add the GitHub plan on top):

Average AI credits used per developer per monthBusiness: seats plus overageEnterprise: seats plus overageDifference
1,000 (light chat, occasional agent mode)$1,900$3,900Business saves $2,000
1,900 (uses the Business allowance)$1,900$3,900Business saves $2,000
3,000 (daily agent mode)$3,000$3,900Business saves $900
3,900 (uses the Enterprise allowance)$3,900$3,900Equal
6,000 (heavy cloud agent use)$6,000$6,000Equal

The two lines meet once the average developer uses 3,900 credits a month and never cross. GitHub's own guidance says as much: it tells enterprises to treat the Business allowance as a baseline, and that the cheapest route for heavy agentic use is either upgrading or allowing additional usage with budget controls. The table shows which one wins on price.

So the Enterprise decision is a features decision. What the extra $20 buys besides credits, per GitHub: Copilot integrated into github.com as a chat interface across the platform, indexing of your organization's codebase for more tailored answers, access to fine-tuned custom private models for code completion, organization knowledge in GitHub Mobile, and priority or earlier access to new models and features. If none of those matters to a given organization, keep it on Business. GitHub lets an enterprise owner choose the plan per organization, so a pilot of Enterprise in one organization is the normal way to test it.

What does a GitHub AI credit buy?

Every Copilot interaction except code completions is priced by tokens (input, cached input, cache writes and output) at the model's published per-million-token rate, then converted to AI credits at $0.01 each. A few of the rates GitHub lists for Copilot, per 1 million tokens:

ModelGitHub categoryInputCached inputOutput
GPT-5 miniLightweight$0.25$0.025$2.00
Gemini 3.8 Flash (promotional through December 31, 2026)Versatile$0.75$0.075$3.75
Claude Sonnet 5Versatile$2.00$0.20$10.00
GPT-6 Sol (up to 272K input)Powerful$2.00$0.20$10.00
Claude Sonnet 4.6Versatile$3.00$0.30$15.00
Claude Opus 5.5Powerful$4.00$0.20$20.00
GPT-5.5 (up to 272K input)Powerful$5.00$0.50$30.00
Claude Fable 5.1Powerful$10.00$0.25$50.00

Rates are hard to budget with, so we converted them into tasks. The token profiles below are our own illustrative assumptions, not GitHub figures, and they leave out cache write charges: a chat question at 20,000 input and 1,500 output tokens, an agent mode task at 300,000 fresh input, 1.2 million cached input and 40,000 output tokens, and a long cloud agent session at five times that.

ModelChat questionAgent mode taskLong cloud agent sessionAgent tasks in 1,900 credits (Business)Agent tasks in 3,900 credits (Enterprise)
GPT-5 miniabout 1 creditabout 19 credits ($0.18)about 83 credits ($0.82)about 100about 210
Gemini 3.8 Flashabout 2 creditsabout 47 credits ($0.46)about 214 credits ($2.14)about 40about 83
Claude Sonnet 5about 6 creditsabout 124 credits ($1.24)about 570 credits ($5.70)about 15about 31
Claude Sonnet 4.6about 8 creditsabout 186 credits ($1.86)about 855 credits ($8.55)about 10about 20
Claude Opus 5.5about 11 creditsabout 224 credits ($2.24)about 1,020 credits ($10.20)about 8about 17
GPT-5.5about 15 creditsabout 330 credits ($3.30)about 1,500 credits ($15.00)about 5about 11
Claude Fable 5.1about 28 creditsabout 530 credits ($5.30)about 2,400 credits ($24.00)about 3about 7

Two conclusions hold whatever your exact token counts are. Model choice moves cost by roughly 30 times between the lightweight and the most powerful models, far more than the plan choice does. And a developer who runs a few frontier-model agent sessions a day will pass the 1,900 credit Business allowance within the first week, which is why the pool and the budgets matter more than the seat.

How pooled credits, overage and budgets work

Each license adds its credits to one pool at the billing entity level. 100 Business seats make a single 190,000 credit pool, not 100 separate buckets, so a power user can draw on what lighter users leave. The pool resets to full at 00:00 UTC on the first day of each calendar month and unused credits are forfeited. Adding seats grows the pool immediately; removing seats shrinks it only from the next cycle.

ControlWhat it capsWhen it applies
User-level budget (universal, cost center or individual)One person's total use, from the pool and from overageAlways. A hard stop; a $0 budget blocks the user at once
Cost center budgetA group's metered chargesOnly after the pool is exhausted
Included usage control for a cost centerHow much of the pool a cost center can draw, capped at the credits its own licenses fundBefore the metered phase
Organization budgetMetered charges for seats billed to that organizationOnly after the pool is exhausted
Enterprise spending limitTotal metered charges for the enterpriseOnly after the pool is exhausted

The default is the part to act on. For organizations and enterprises, additional paid usage is enabled out of the box. If no one sets a budget, heavy agent use simply continues at $0.01 per credit. To forbid any spend above the included pool, an admin has to switch off the AI credits paid usage policy in AI Controls. When budgets run out, Copilot stops for that user until the next cycle; there is no longer an automatic fallback to a cheaper model the way there was under premium requests.

A sensible starting configuration for a 100-developer shop on Business: a universal user-level budget of about $40 (4,000 credits, roughly twice the per-seat allowance), individual overrides with an expiry date for the few engineers who run cloud agent all day, and an enterprise spending limit sized at 20% to 30% of the seat bill for the first two months while you learn the real consumption.

Costs outside the seat price

Four line items catch Copilot buyers after the contract is signed.

ItemWhat GitHub saysBudget impact
Copilot code reviewBilled in AI credits for the tokens and in GitHub Actions minutes for the agentic infrastructure. The model is chosen automatically and not disclosedGitHub estimates $0.05 to $1 of AI credits per review at Lite effort and $0.25 to $5 at Balanced effort, before Actions minutes. Usage is attributed to the pull request author. A dedicated reviewer can cost less at high volume, see our CodeRabbit pricing page
Data residency and FedRAMPRequests carry a 10% model multiplier increaseRegulated US teams should add 10% to every usage estimate
Third-party coding agents, Spaces, Spark, CLIAll consume AI creditsAnything beyond completions draws on the same pool
End of the transition promotionExisting customers received $30 (Business) and $70 (Enterprise) of monthly credits for June, July and August 2026From September the pool is $19 and $39 per seat, a 37% and 44% cut against the summer

The last row explains most of the surprised September invoices. Teams that sized their habits on the summer promotion had 58% more usage per Business seat than they have now, and paid overage is on by default.

Which GitHub Copilot plan should a US company buy?

Your situationBuyWhy
Small team on GitHub Team, mostly completions and chatBusiness at $19 on Team$23 all in; completions are unlimited and cost no credits
Already on Enterprise Cloud, mixed usageBusiness, with a universal user-level budgetPays overage only on real use; the table above shows it is never more expensive on credits
You want codebase indexing, org knowledge on github.com or private fine-tuned modelsEnterprise for the organizations that need themThe features are the premium; plans can be set per organization
Individual contractor or founderPro at $10 or Pro+ at $39Individual plans lack license management, policy controls and IP indemnity, so they are not a fit for a company rollout

One more cost comparison belongs on the table. Copilot's meter charges for coding work you drive by hand. Some of that work is a repeated job that does not need a frontier model on a per-token meter at all: reviewing every pull request against your conventions, turning bug reports into labeled, routed tickets, or keeping API docs in step with the code. A ready-made agent that does one of those jobs runs on a flat monthly price with no credits to watch. The coding agents at the top of this page, Code Reviewer, Bug Triager and Docs Writer, connect to GitHub and are priced per month, not per token, so they are a predictable way to take the most repetitive volume off your Copilot pool.

If you are comparing coding agent costs across vendors, our Devin pricing breakdown covers Cognition's ACU model, our Claude Enterprise pricing page covers Claude Code seats for teams, and Cursor pricing covers Cursor's Teams seats and the token rate it adds to third-party models. For what changed from premium requests and how to convert an old budget, read GitHub Copilot premium requests pricing.

Frequently asked

Your questions about GitHub Copilot Enterprise pricing

How much does GitHub Copilot Enterprise cost?

GitHub Copilot Enterprise costs $39 per user per month and includes 3,900 AI credits per user, pooled across your enterprise. It requires GitHub Enterprise Cloud, which starts at $21 per user per month, so the minimum all-in cost is $60 per developer. Usage beyond the pool is billed at $0.01 per AI credit unless an admin disables paid usage.

How much does GitHub Copilot Business cost?

Copilot Business costs $19 per user per month and includes 1,900 AI credits per user in a shared pool. It works on any organization plan, so on GitHub Team at $4 per user the total is $23. Code completions and next edit suggestions are unlimited and do not use credits; chat, agent mode, code review, the CLI and cloud agent do.

What is the difference between GitHub Copilot Business and Enterprise?

Enterprise includes everything in Business plus Copilot integrated into github.com as a chat interface, indexing of your organization's codebase, access to fine-tuned private models for code completion, and earlier access to new models and features. It also includes 3,900 AI credits per user instead of 1,900. Business covers Copilot in the IDE, CLI and GitHub Mobile with policy management and IP indemnity.

Does GitHub Copilot Enterprise require GitHub Enterprise Cloud?

Yes. GitHub sells Copilot Enterprise only to organizations on GitHub Enterprise Cloud, which is listed from $21 per user per month. Copilot Business does not have that requirement and can be added to organizations on GitHub Free, Team or Enterprise Cloud.

Is GitHub Copilot Enterprise worth it?

Only for its features. The extra $20 per seat over Business buys 2,000 more AI credits, which is exactly $20 of usage at $0.01 per credit. Because Business can buy the same credits as overage and pays only for what is used, Business is equal or cheaper on usage at every level. Choose Enterprise when you need codebase indexing, organization knowledge on github.com or private fine-tuned models.

What happens when we run out of GitHub AI credits?

For organizations, additional paid usage is on by default, so Copilot keeps working and bills $0.01 per credit until a budget or spending limit stops it. If an admin disables the paid usage policy, Copilot is blocked until the pool resets at 00:00 UTC on the first of the month. There is no automatic fallback to a cheaper model anymore.

Do unused GitHub Copilot AI credits roll over?

No. Included AI credits are forfeited at the end of each month, and the pool resets to its full amount at 00:00 UTC on the first day of every calendar month. The reset date is fixed and does not depend on when seats were added or billed.

How much does Copilot code review cost?

Each Copilot code review is billed twice: the tokens in AI credits and the agentic infrastructure in GitHub Actions minutes at normal Actions rates. GitHub picks the model automatically and does not disclose it, but it now estimates $0.05 to $1 of AI credits per review at Lite effort and $0.25 to $5 at Balanced, before Actions minutes. Credits go to whoever requested the review, or to the pull request author when a policy triggers it.

Are there discounts on GitHub Copilot Enterprise?

GitHub does not publish volume discounts for Copilot Enterprise; the $39 per user list price applies on its plan pages. Larger buyers negotiate through GitHub sales, so ask for pricing on seats and on prepaid usage together, since usage now drives most of the variable cost.

Deploy your first GitHub Copilot Enterprise pricing agent today

Browse the marketplace, deploy in one click, and run on any model. No lock-in.

Browse agents