Greptile Pricing and Greptile Cost per Developer for Teams
Greptile sells AI code review per active developer, with 50 review credits in every seat and a dollar for each credit after that. A deeper review costs 3 or 10 credits, so the tier you choose moves the bill more than the seat price does. We read Greptile's pricing page and its billing and review-tier docs on October 12, 2026 and priced a 10-developer team four ways.
No agents in this category in the preview.
See the full catalog →What it does
What it does not do
Interactive preview · no account needed
Not connectable yet
This agent cannot be deployed today: we have not shipped the connector it needs. There is nothing to try out here yet, and the full listing says the same.
Open the full listing →In short
Greptile costs $30 per active developer per month on its Pro plan, including 50 credits per developer. One credit buys one Base review, a Plus review costs 3 credits and an Apex review 10. Extra credits cost $1 each and are charged per pull request author, not from a team pool. Starter is free for one developer with 50 credits a month, and Enterprise is custom priced.
At a glance
Greptile pricing by plan, US list read from greptile.com/pricing and the Greptile billing docs on October 12, 2026
| Plan | Price | Included credits | Extra credits | Who it fits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | $0 | 50 per month | Not listed | One active developer, unlimited repositories |
| Pro | $30 per active developer per month | 50 per developer per month | $1 per credit, per author | Teams of any size, unlimited seats and integrations |
| Enterprise | Custom | Negotiated | Negotiated | Self-hosting, SSO and SAML, GitHub Enterprise Server, GitLab Self-Managed, Bitbucket Data Center, Perforce |
| Pre-Series A startups | 50% off | As on the plan | Not stated | Under $2M revenue in the past 12 months |
| Open source | $0 | Not stated | Not stated | Qualified non-commercial projects with an OSI-approved license |
The challenge
Greptile's headline price looks simple, but the bill depends on three things the pricing page only hints at. Every completed review counts, including the re-reviews that run on each push when auto-review is set to trigger on them. Deeper review tiers burn credits three or ten times faster. And overage is counted per author, so one prolific developer can run up flex charges while the rest of the team leaves credits unused.
How AgentMarketplace handles it
Price Greptile in credits, not seats. Count the reviews each developer actually receives in a month, multiply by the credits per tier you plan to run, and subtract 50. Whatever is left is billed at $1 per credit for that developer. Then set a flex usage limit in billing so Greptile skips reviews that would exceed it, and exclude bot authors so dependency updates never consume credits.
How much does Greptile cost?
Greptile costs $30 per active developer per month on Pro, the plan built for teams. Each seat includes 50 credits a month, and every credit beyond that costs $1. Starter is free for a single active developer with 50 credits a month, and Enterprise is quoted by sales. Pro starts with a 14-day free trial, and Greptile offers custom pricing for annual and multi-year contracts.
Greptile does not bill by headcount. An active developer is anyone with at least one completed review charged to them in the billing period, so an engineer who only reviews other people's code, or who opened nothing that month, costs nothing. That makes the seat count the number of pull request authors, which on most teams is lower than the size of the engineering org.
| Item | Price | What it buys |
|---|---|---|
| Pro seat | $30 per active developer per month | 50 credits for that developer |
| Base review | 1 credit | A thorough review with full codebase context |
| Plus review | 3 credits | A deeper review for pull requests that need extra scrutiny |
| Apex review | 10 credits | Greptile's most intensive review, for large, complex pull requests |
| T-Rex review (beta) | 3 credits | Runtime validation of the change |
| Flex usage | $1 per credit | Any credit a developer uses past their 50 |
If a developer uses all 50 included credits on Base reviews, each review costs $0.60. Past the allowance a Base review costs $1, a Plus review $3 and an Apex review $10. The tier, not the seat, is where a Greptile bill grows.
Greptile cost for a team of 10 developers
Here is what 10 active developers pay on Pro at four realistic review patterns. Each developer opens about 20 pull requests a month. The difference between the rows is how many reviews those pull requests trigger and which tier runs.
| Review pattern per developer per month | Credits used | Flex credits | Cost per developer | 10 developers per month | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 30 Base reviews (review on open only) | 30 | 0 | $30 | $300 | $3,600 |
| 60 Base reviews (auto-review on every push, about 3 per PR) | 60 | 10 | $40 | $400 | $4,800 |
| 50 reviews on Auto (40 Base, 7 Plus, 3 Apex) | 91 | 41 | $71 | $710 | $8,520 |
| 20 Apex reviews (Apex on every PR into production) | 200 | 150 | $180 | $1,800 | $21,600 |
The first row is the price on Greptile's page. The second is what most teams actually see once auto-review runs on pushes, and it is a third more. The last row follows one of Greptile's own recommendations, running Apex on every pull request into the production branch, and it costs six times the seat price. That setting is worth it on a payments service; it is expensive on a marketing site.
For a 10-developer team, CodeRabbit Essentials costs $240 a month on annual billing with reviews limited by the hour rather than by credits, and GitHub Copilot Business costs $190 a month with code review drawn from the same AI credit pool developers use for chat. Our CodeRabbit pricing page and the Greptile vs CodeRabbit pricing comparison run the same team through both tools at three review volumes.
How Greptile credits and review tiers work
Greptile meters completed reviews, not pull requests. A skipped review costs nothing. A review runs when someone triggers it from a comment or the web app, or automatically on the events listed in the repository's auto-review setting: the pull request opening, a push, or a rebase. Turn on review-on-push and a pull request that goes through four rounds of changes uses four reviews.
Each review runs at one of three tiers. Base costs 1 credit, Plus 3 and Apex 10. A fourth setting, Auto, lets Greptile pick the tier for each pull request from its size, risk and complexity, and you pay for the tier that ran. Greptile recommends Auto as the default, plus two rules: Apex on pull requests into the production branch, and Apex on pull requests that change more than 30 files.
- A comment can raise the tier but never lower it. "@greptileai review this at apex" upgrades that one review, and later pushes go back to the configured tier.
- In a monorepo the highest tier wins. When one pull request touches directories with different tiers, the whole review runs at the highest one.
- CLI reviews run at Base unless the developer passes a flag for Plus or Apex.
Those rules are why two teams on the same plan can pay very different amounts. Before you roll Greptile out, decide which repositories deserve Plus or Apex and write that into the configuration rather than leaving it to Auto everywhere.
Are Greptile credits pooled across the team?
No. Greptile credits are not pooled across the team. Each active developer gets their own 50 credits per billing period, and flex usage is calculated per developer. A developer who uses 120 credits pays for 70 flex credits even if four teammates used only 10 each.
Reviews are charged to the pull request author, not to the person who asked for the review. So a senior engineer who triggers Apex reviews on a junior developer's pull requests spends the junior developer's credits. That matters on teams where most code comes from two or three people: their flex charges dominate the bill, and the rest of the seats carry unused credit you cannot move.
Two kinds of review sit outside the seat model. A CLI review run by a signed-in user with a linked GitHub or GitLab account is attributed to that user and uses their credits. An unattributed CLI review, and any review made with an API key that is not bound to a user, is billed straight to flex usage and does not create an active developer.
How to cap Greptile flex usage
Greptile lets an organization cap flex spend under Organization Settings, Billing, Flex Usage Limit. When projected spend reaches the cap, Greptile skips any review that would incur flex usage until the next billing period or until you raise the limit. Setting the limit to $0 turns flex off completely, which turns Pro into a flat $30 per active developer.
The cap does not stop developers who still have included credits. They keep receiving reviews after the cap is hit. Only reviews that would cost extra are skipped, so a cap protects the budget without switching review off for the whole team.
The second control is bot exclusion. Add dependabot, renovate and any service accounts to the excluded authors list in the dashboard or in greptile.json. Excluded authors are not reviewed and do not count as active developers, so a busy dependency bot never turns into a $30 seat plus flex.
Is Greptile free?
Greptile is free on its Starter plan for one active developer, with 50 credits a month and unlimited repositories. That is enough for a solo developer or a trial on a single repository. A team needs Pro, which starts with a 14-day free trial.
Greptile is also free for qualified non-commercial open-source projects with an OSI-approved license, through an application. Commercial teams at pre-Series A startups with under $2 million in revenue over the last 12 months can apply for a 50% discount, which brings the seat to $15. Greptile's page does not say whether the discount also applies to flex credits, so ask before you budget heavy Apex use on it.
Greptile Enterprise pricing
Greptile Enterprise is custom priced through sales. Greptile does not publish a rate. The plan includes everything in Pro plus self-hosting in your own infrastructure, SSO and SAML, GitHub Enterprise Server and GitHub Enterprise Cloud with data residency, GitLab Self-Managed, Bitbucket Data Center and Gitea, Perforce with P4 Code Review for on-premises deployments, security and compliance reviews, a dedicated Slack support channel, custom invoicing and payment terms, and a custom DPA and terms of service.
For US companies the deciding item is usually hosting. If your code cannot leave your own cloud or data center, Enterprise is the only Greptile plan that fits, and it is also the only route to Bitbucket Data Center and Perforce. If your repositories live on github.com and SSO is the only requirement, ask whether Pro with an annual contract meets the security review before you open an Enterprise negotiation.
When a flat-priced review agent costs less than Greptile
Credit metering works well when each developer gets a predictable number of reviews at a predictable depth. It costs more than it needs to when review-on-push multiplies reviews, when a few authors produce most of the pull requests, or when you want deep reviews on automated pull requests from coding agents that do not map to a person.
The Code Reviewer agent in our catalog reviews every pull request on the repositories you connect, comments with concrete fixes and enforces your conventions for a flat monthly price from $49, with no credits and no per-author overage. It connects to GitHub with permissions you can revoke. Teams use it next to a seat-based reviewer or instead of one on internal repositories. Compare the pricing models side by side in our AI agent pricing guide.
Frequently asked
Your questions about Greptile pricing
How much does Greptile cost?
Greptile Pro costs $30 per active developer per month and includes 50 credits per developer. Extra credits cost $1 each. A Base review uses 1 credit, Plus 3 and Apex 10. Starter is free for one developer with 50 credits a month, and Enterprise is custom priced.
Is Greptile free?
Greptile is free on Starter for one active developer, with 50 credits a month and unlimited repositories. Teams need Pro at $30 per active developer, which has a 14-day free trial. Qualified non-commercial open-source projects can apply for free use.
What is a Greptile credit?
A Greptile credit is the unit Greptile charges reviews in. One credit buys one Base review, a Plus review costs 3 credits, an Apex review 10 and a T-Rex runtime validation review 3. Each Pro seat includes 50 credits a month, and extra credits cost $1.
Are Greptile credits shared across the team?
No. Each active developer has their own 50 included credits, and flex usage is calculated per developer, not from a team pool. Reviews are charged to the pull request author, so heavy authors pay flex while unused credits on other seats do not carry over to them.
How do I limit Greptile overage charges?
Set a Flex Usage Limit under Organization Settings, Billing. When projected spend hits it, Greptile skips reviews that would cost extra until the next period. A $0 limit disables flex completely. Also exclude bot authors such as dependabot so they never use credits or count as active developers.
Is Greptile cheaper than CodeRabbit?
No on list price. Greptile Pro is $30 per active developer against $24 for CodeRabbit Essentials billed annually, and Greptile adds $1 per credit past 50 credits per developer, while CodeRabbit limits reviews by the hour instead. For a pre-Series A startup, Greptile's 50% discount brings the seat to $15, below CodeRabbit.
Does Greptile charge for bot pull requests?
Only if you let it review them. Pull requests from authors on the excluded list are not reviewed and do not count as active developers. Add dependabot, renovate and service accounts to that list in the dashboard or greptile.json so they never create a seat or use credits.
How much does Greptile Enterprise cost?
Greptile does not publish an Enterprise price; it is quoted by sales, with custom pricing for annual and multi-year contracts. Enterprise adds self-hosting, SSO and SAML, GitHub Enterprise Server, GitLab Self-Managed, Bitbucket Data Center, Perforce support, a dedicated Slack channel and custom terms.
Keep exploring
Related pages
Deploy your first Greptile pricing agent today
Browse the marketplace, deploy in one click, and run on any model. No lock-in.